The OF Blog: Jeff Ford wins 2009 Shirley Jackson Award for Best Novel

Monday, July 13, 2009

Jeff Ford wins 2009 Shirley Jackson Award for Best Novel

Just saw this posted on his blog, but haven't yet found out who won in the other categories. This is very cool, as The Shadow Year was one of my favorite 2008 novels. For those curious about the shortlist, here it is:

  • Alive in Necropolis, Doug Dorst (Riverhead Hardcover)
  • The Man on the Ceiling, Steve Rasnic Tem and Melanie Tem (Wizards of the Coast Discoveries)
  • Pandemonium, Daryl Gregory (Del Rey)
  • The Resurrectionist, Jack O’Connell (Algonquin Books)
  • The Shadow Year, Jeffrey Ford (William Morrow)
  • Tender Morsels, Margo Lanagan (Knopf Books for Young Readers)
I've read and enjoyed the Lanagan and the Tems as well (and will read the others eventually), so it appears to have been chosen from a nice group of finalists.

I'll edit this later when I find out the results for the other categories.

Edit: Thanks to Charles Tan pointing me the way, here are the other winners. Congrats to all!

Short Story: "The Pile" by Michael Bishop (Subterranean Online, Winter 2008)
Single Author Collection: The Diving Pool, Yoko Ogawa (Picador)
Anthology: The New Uncanny, edited by Sarah Eyre and Ra Page (Comma Press)
Novella: Disquiet, Julia Leigh (Penguin/Hamish Hamilton)
Novelette: "Pride and Prometheus", John Kessel (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, January 2008)


Charles said...

Other winners:

Larry said...

Thanks! I'll edit those in now and then attempt to sleep for a bit.

Add to Technorati Favorites