The OF Blog: 2008 World Fantasy Award finalists

Thursday, August 07, 2008

2008 World Fantasy Award finalists

As taken from Locus Online:

  • Leo & Diane Dillon
  • Patricia McKillip
  • Fangland, John Marks (Penguin)
  • The Gospel of the Knife, Will Shetterly (Tor)
  • The Servants, Michael Marshall Smith (Earthling Publications)
  • Territory, Emma Bull (Tor)
  • Ysabel, Guy Gavriel Kay (Viking Canada; Roc)
  • "Cold Snap", Kim Newman (The Secret Files of the Diogenes Club)
  • Illyria, Elizabeth Hand (PS Publishing)
  • "The Master Miller's Tale", Ian R. MacLeod (F&SF May 2007)
  • The Mermaids, Robert Edric (PS Publishing)
  • "Stars Seen through Stone", Lucius Shepard (F&SF Jul 2007)
  • "The Cambist and Lord Iron: A Fairy Tale of Economics", Daniel Abraham (Logorrhea)
  • "The Church on the Island", Simon Kurt Unsworth (At Ease with the Dead, Ash-Tree Press)
  • "Damned If You Don't", Robert Shearman (Tiny Deaths)
  • "The Evolution of Trickster Stories Among the Dogs of North Park After the Change", Kij Johnson (The Coyote Road)
  • "Singing of Mount Abora", Theodora Goss (Logorrhea)
  • The Coyote Road, Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, eds. (Viking)
  • Five Strokes to Midnight, Gary A. Braunbeck & Hank Schwaeble, eds. (Haunted Pelican Press)
  • Inferno, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Tor)
  • Logorrhea, John Klima, ed. (Bantam Spectra)
  • Wizards, Jack Dann & Gardner Dozois, eds. (Berkley)
  • Dagger Key and Other Stories, Lucius Shepard (PS Publishing)
  • Hart & Boot & Other Stories, Tim Pratt (Night Shade Books)
  • Plots and Misadventures, Stephen Gallagher (Subterranean Press)
  • Portable Childhoods, Ellen Klages (Tachyon Publications)
  • The Secret Files of the Diogenes Club, Kim Newman (MonkeyBrain Books)
  • Tiny Deaths, Robert Shearman (Comma Press)
  • Ruan Jia
  • Mikko Kinnunen
  • Stephan Martiniere
  • Edward Miller
  • John Picacio
  • Allison Baker & Chris Roberson (for MonkeyBrain Books)
  • Alan Beatts & Jude Feldman (for Borderlands Books)
  • Peter Crowther (for PS Publishing)
  • Jeremy Lassen & Jason Williams (for Night Shade Books)
  • Shawna McCarthy (for Realms of Fantasy)
  • Gordon Van Gelder (for F&SF)
  • G. S. Evans & Alice Whittenburg (for Cafe Irreal,
  • John Klima (for Electric Velocipede)
  • Rosalie Parker & Raymond Russell (for Tartarus Press)
  • Midori Snyder & Terri Windling (for Endicott Studios Website)
  • Stephen Jones (for Travellers in Darkness: The Souvenir Book of the World Horror Convention 2007)
  • Quick thoughts (still exhausted from beginning the school year - having the most fun during the in-service sessions that I've ever had, in case you're curious - so this will be brief, as I have one other post to make tonight before I crash): Interesting to see Emma Bull and her husband, Will Shetterly, each garner nominations for Best Novel. Don't know if this has ever happened before in a single year. Only have read Territory out of that group (have heard of the others, though) and I thought it was well-deserving of a nomination. Also read the Logorrhea and Wizards anthologies and Tim Pratt's Hart & Boot collection; thought the Pratt was strong, a bit more ambivalent about some of the stories in the two anthologies. More thoughts later, once I read the other finalists.

    No comments:

    Add to Technorati Favorites