The OF Blog: Shirley Jackson Award finalists

Thursday, May 01, 2008

Shirley Jackson Award finalists

I just learned about this new juried award over at Jeff VanderMeer's blog, so here's the link to the finalists:


  • Baltimore, Mike Mignola and Christopher Golden (Bantam Spectra)
  • Generation Loss, Elizabeth Hand (Small Beer Press)
  • Sharp Teeth, Toby Barlow (William Heinemann Ltd)
  • The Terror, Dan Simmons (Little, Brown)
  • Tokyo Year Zero, David Peace (Knopf)


  • 12 Collections, Zoran Zivkovic (PS Publishing)
  • Illyria, Elizabeth Hand (PS Publishing)
  • The Mermaids, Robert Edric (PS Publishing)
  • "Procession of the Black Sloth," Laird Barron (The Imago Sequence and Other Stories, Night Shade Books)
  • The Scalding Rooms, Conrad Williams (PS Publishing)
  • "Vacancy," Lucius Shepard (Subterranean #7, 2007)


  • "The Forest," Laird Barron (Inferno, Tor)
  • "The Janus Tree," Glen Hirshberg (Inferno, Tor)
  • "The Swing," Don Tumasonis (At Ease with the Dead, Ash-Tree Press)
  • "The Tenth Muse," William Browning Spencer (Subterranean #6, 2007)
  • "Thumbprint," Joe Hill (Postscripts #10, March 2007)


  • "Holiday," M. Rickert (Subterranean #7, 2007)
  • "The Monsters of Heaven," Nathan Ballingrud (Inferno,Tor)
  • "A Murder of Crows," Elizabeth Ziemska (Tin House 31, Spring 2007)
  • "Something in the Mermaid Way," Carrie Laben (Clarkesworld, March 2007)
  • "The Third Bear," Jeff VanderMeer (Clarkesworld, April 2007)
  • "Unique Chicken Goes in Reverse," Andy Duncan (Eclipse One, Night Shade Books)


  • The Bone Key, Sarah Monette (Prime Books)
  • The Entire Predicament, Lucy Corin (Tin House)
  • The Imago Sequence and Other Stories, Laird Barron (Night Shade Books)
  • Like You'd Understand, Anyway, Jim Shepard (Knopf)
  • Old Devil Moon, Christopher Fowler (Serpent's Tail)


  • At Ease with the Dead, edited by Barbara and Christopher Roden (Ash-Tree Press)
  • Dark Delicacies 2, edited by Del Howison and Jeff Gelb (Running Press)
  • Inferno, edited by Ellen Datlow (Tor)
  • Logorrhea, edited by John Klima (Bantam Spectra)
  • Wizards, edited by Jack Dann and Gardner Dozois (Berkley)
Impressive list of finalists here. Winners will be announced on July 20, 2008. Might have to do some reading/commentary on these, as some of these I just finished reading/re-reading last month.


Mihai A. said...

Great news you got here Larry, thanks.

Lsrry said...

You're welcome :D

Add to Technorati Favorites