The OF Blog: List of Premio Alfaguara winners

Tuesday, September 03, 2013

List of Premio Alfaguara winners

Unlike most other lists of literary prize winners, there will be little need for me to acquire the books, as with the exception of the winners during the first iteration (1965-1972), I have already bought and read each winner since the Premio Alfaguara was revived in 1998.  I consider the Premio Alfaguara to be one the best Spanish-language literary awards, not just for the high quality of the winners, but also because the revolving jury of prominent writers (Carlos Fuentes was once a jurist) and critics read over 600 submissions yearly that are submitted under pseudonyms (the winner gets $175,000 and the book published; it is a manuscript prize, basically).  I do plan on re-reading and writing at least short reviews in coming months/years of the winners of the revived prize (and perhaps I'll track down copies of the 1965-1972 winners as well), so in the interests of having a centralized article in which I can link reviews (three were written some years ago), here is the list (many have since been translated into English and other languages, so feel free to search out these titles, each of which I would recommend)  Note that for the first iteration of the award, the award was given near the end of the year listed, with the actual publication date often being early in the following year.

1965 Jesús Torbado, Las corrupciones
1969/70 No Award
1971 Carlos Droguett, Todas esas muertes
1972 Luis Berenguer, Leña verde
1973 Alfonso Grosso, Florido mayo
1973/4-1997  No Award  

1998 Eliseo Alberto, Caracol Beach
         Sergio Ramírez, Margarita, está linda la mar 
2000 Clara Sánchez, Últimas noticias del paraíso
2001 Elena Poniatowska, La piel del cielo
2002 Tomás Eloy Martínez , El vuelo de la reina
2003 Xavier Velasco, Diablo guardián
2004 Laura Restrepo, Delirio
2005 Graciela Montes & Ema Wolf, El turno del escriba
2006 Santiago Roncagliolo, Abril Rojo
2007 Luis Leante, Mira si yo te querré
2008 Antonio Orlando Rodríguez, Chiquita
2009 Andrés Neuman, El viajero del siglo
2010 Hernán Rivera Letelier, El arte de la resurrección
2011 Juan Gabriel Vásquez, El ruido de la cosas al caer
2012 Leopoldo Brizuela, Una misma noche
2013 José Ovejero, La invención del amor 
2014 Jorge Franco, El mundo de afuera 2015 Carla Guelfenbein, Contigo en la distancia

No comments:

Add to Technorati Favorites